Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric

Gorgeous Fabrics
http://www.gorgeousfabrics.com

Viewed 994 time(s) 14 more reviews for Gorgeous Fabrics
Review rated Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by: Fewofakind
photo
About Fewofakind star
IL USA
Member since: 10/24/13
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
web sites reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/24/13 11:59 AM
http://www.gorgeousfabrics.com Fabric
Current Tags What is a Tag:
I'd heard so many good things about this site that I never expected a problem. My experience was pretty bad. I ordered white cotton jersey and they sent me ivory 4-way stretch. When I emailed that I'd received the wrong fabric, they asked me to send back a sample (my expense) to prove it.

They acknowledged that it was the wrong fabric, then offered to let me keep it and issue a credit. Problem was, this was for a specific project and what they sent was useless to me. Also, I never wear ivory, and this wasn't cheap. There was nothing I wanted on the site at that point, and needed the money back. I explained that and she then demanded I send the wrong fabric back before any refund (getting pretty huffy). I asked for postage for the return, since it WAS their fault and it was a pretty hefty package (and a refund of the shipping I'd paid for the wrong fabric).

Anne was not exactly gracious about this and somehow concluded that I was impugning her business. Not at all--I was asking for what I see as standard practice when the business has made the error. I did get the refund (this whole process took more than 2 weeks and over a DOZEN emails). She also told me to never order from them again (!!) which is a certainty and was intended to insult me, I think. Their website has nice fabric, but it was just about the worst internet-fabric experience ever--in fact, I've ordered from many fabric websites and never experienced any problem from any of them. Beware!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara3 said...
Sorry you had that experience with this vendor. Yours was remarkably similar to mine, and that was several years ago.
10/24/13 12:55 PM
Fewofakind said...
Thanks, Barbara3--reassuring to know it's not just me.
10/24/13 4:18 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Wow! I've NEVER had *any* problems at all with Gorgeous Fabrics ...and I have been shopping there about once a month for the past 5-6 years (I make ALL of my clothes except lingerie). Frankly, I'd be lost without them...no one else carries that wide a variety of quality designer fabric at a price that I can afford.
10/25/13 8:40 AM
Rhoda K said...
I'm so sorry to hear this as well. I've ordered from her before and never had a problem.
10/25/13 8:58 AM
PattiA said...
I've ordered from Ann many times and have gotten great customer service. I once ordered a silk twill which was listed as 60" wide. When I received the fabric it was 45". I called Ann; she checked and said I was right; she offered to refund the order (and I could keep the silk). Oh, and she very quickly corrected the website and THANKED me for letting her know. She has always been gracious and responsive. I kept the yardage I had received and ordered more in order to complete my project. Gorgeous Fabrics is on my Top Three list of online vendors (the other two are Michael's Fabrics and Christine Jonson).
10/25/13 9:43 AM
ASiverson said...
Sounds to me as if the vendor is out of their/her metier. Don't let it bother you, you were right. And be as kind about your experience as you can be. And as you can see from Barbara3, you are not alone, unfortunately.....!
10/25/13 10:04 AM
fcsltd said...
I have ordered from this site many times and I have found Ann has been exemplary in her diligence to let me know when there was not enough of an item to fill my request and also, she has replaced my original item with something better (quality and price) to fulfill my order without charging me more. Any item I have received that was not what I expected was due to my inexperience with a particular fabric NOT due to vendor error. An example of this would be RPL pants fabric that was of very high quality but a heavier weight than I can wear in a hot climate however it worked wonderfully for a different item of clothing so I did not see a reason to send it back. I am sorry your experience was not what you expected but I hope others will not be put off by one person's experience.
10/25/13 10:34 AM
JOshiro said...
I've heard really good and really bad things about this vendor. I am an infrequent customer (1-2 orders in the past few years), but haven't had a problem. Sorry you had a negative experience.
10/25/13 11:45 AM
Sewliz said...
Most buying experiences that people have with Gorgeous Fabrics are excellent but it is good to have the occasional review that shows the not so great experiences as well. I have had both good and bad. I'm just glad she is a source of garment quality fabric for those of us that will never get to a fabulous fabric store.
10/26/13 0:08 AM
vflinn said...
Same here. Order a knit -- had a major flaw that ran the entire width of the fabric -- when I emailed -- similiar response - send it back. That was the last time ordering from them.
10/26/13 9:33 PM
sewme47 said...
Fewofakind, your experience is far from unique. I also have had good and bad experiences with Ann. If everything goes right, GF is a great resource. But if something goes wrong, wow, the claws come come out and you are treated like a criminal. After such an experience, I am now a FORMER customer.
11/11/13 7:30 PM
Maia B said...
Thank you for sharing your experience. Since it wasn't an isolated event, I won't gamble that I might be one of the lucky ones.
12/20/13 5:04 PM
 
Crazy Quilt Girl Fabric Shop
http://www.crazyquiltgirlfabricshop.com
Reviewed by: Steffie on 10/20/13
... Read Review
 
http://thefabricfairy.com
http://thefabricfairy.com
Reviewed by: Ksaunm on 10/17/13
... Read Review
 
Girl Charlee
http://www.girlcharlee.com/
Reviewed by: Ksaunm on 10/17/13
... Read Review
 
emmaonesock
http://www.emmaonesock.com/
Reviewed by: Ksaunm on 10/17/13
... Read Review
 
Bytowne Threads (Cdn Aurifil & art quilt patterns)
http://bytownethreads.com/aurifil-threads/
Reviewed by: LynnRowe on 10/12/13
... Read Review
Add another Web site    Read All Web site Reviews


Any registered trademarks mentioned on this page are the property of their respective owner. Valid and accurate reviews and comments are the responsibility of their posters. As per its Terms and Conditions, PatternReview.com is not responsible for and does not validate or verify the accuracy of these statements. Posters you are responsible for your comments so please ensure that these are substantiated.

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us