Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric

Fabric Mart Fabrics
http://www.fabricmartfabrics.com/

Viewed 778 time(s) 2 more reviews for Fabric Mart Fabrics
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by: ceridwen
photo
Friend of PR
About ceridwen
CA USA
Member since: 1/16/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
web sites reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/14/13 3:32 PM
http://www.fabricmartfabrics.com/ Fabric
Current Tags What is a Tag:
First off the fabrics are listed with misleading descriptions. Most recently I bought what was listed as "felted" wool coating. I wanted to make the Marcy Tilton felted jacket. In felted wool the fibers are interlocked such that the fabric does not ravel. The fabric I recieved was brushed wool, no felting in site. TO send it back I would have to pay for return shipping even though it's completed unsuitable, and false advertising. This was not the first wool that I bought that was not as advertised. I bought a "Heavy wool coating" 50% cashmere that was so thin I could practically see thru it. Unsuitable for a coat unless interlined. But that's not all. Twice I have ordered items and was notified that they were out of stock only to have my paypal charged anyway. In fact even after I sent email asking for a refund I had to file a complaint with paypal to get my money returned. Well folks NEVER AGAIN! I like Fashion Fabrics club, the listings are correct and I have never had them charge my account if they were out of something.
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BJHM said...
Please accept my sincere appreciation for your timely feedback: it was very valuable. Ordering fabric online is new for me, and these just happened to be the two sites under 'next order' consideration. You definitely helped! So far I've only ordered once fr. EOS and once fr. Elliot B.T and have already learned the fabric's color is a factor that might vary from expectations. Since it is so daunting for me to now have to purchase without seeing and touching the fabric, I agree: the accuracy of description is parmount! Thank you again for writing.
12/14/13 10:17 PM
BJHM said...
*(oops good grief - - meant PARAmount) - key - critical! P.S. I notice some web sites put the weight of the fabric as part of the overall description (e.g., 10 oz. terrycloth, 6.7 oz. batik duck, etc.) and wondered why all fabric sites don't do that on all fabric. Signed, Grateful for Others' Patience :)
12/14/13 10:44 PM
Grandmomof7boys said...
My problem with Fabric Mart is their packaging. The last 2 orders were in re-used boxes, which I think is generally fine & eco friendly. However, the fabric was just put into the box without any protective wrapping. One of the pieces of fabric was actually stuck to the packing tape used to cover a hole in the re-purposed box. There was no damage to the fabric so I didn't attempt to return it. I did e mail "Chris" with my complaint, but rec'd no answer. In the past, this company has been very good about customer service. That's why I gave them another chance after the first poor packaging. I will not order from them again.
12/15/13 7:54 AM
SandiMacD said...
I am another that received fabric that I considered inferior or not in line with the description. Tried 3 times in a 14 mo span. Once I received 2 cuts to equal what I ordered! Never again. I think I heard they were taken over by Amazon. In any event they are into discount- not quality. Amazon is like an online Walmart but worse because you can't see or touch the product. Now Fabric Mart.
12/15/13 8:14 AM
Nan Kay said...
Sandi I believe Fabric.com was purchased by Amazon. Fabric Mart is not part of Amazon. I have been purchasing from Fabric Mart for a number of years. I have found their communication with me to be excellent. I may have ordered 1 or 2 pieces that didn't completely live up to my expectations but they were deeply discounted so rather what you might expect for 1 or 2 a yard! It is my favorite fabric store to visit when I make it to Pennsylvania.
12/15/13 9:42 AM
BrendaR said...
I'm sorry to hear this. I've dealt with FM in person for decades and have never had anything but the most helpful interactions, good fabric, good prices. If you can't shop in person, it might be good to deal with a place that offers to do swatches...even for a modest fee.
12/16/13 0:03 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Ooh, sorry for that. I am a die hard FabricMart fan. I do agree that at times their descriptions leave a bit to be desired BUT when I have been in question, I've called and asked, and got great help.
12/16/13 11:19 AM
Creative Hormone Rush said...
I love Fabric Mart. Although some of their descriptions could be more helpful, such as by indicating that a knit is a very thin one, I'm fine with my purchases and occasionally wonderfully surprised. But for evenness of quality and needing to be dead sure what you're getting for a project, I've found that EOS has the best descriptions, and her suggested coordinating fabrics tell a LOT about the fabric and help you visualize it in garments. I prefer the sites that give the Pantone number, then I check it against my Pantone guide to make sure it's a shade I love. EOS also tracks where you can order the inexpensive version of the Pantone guide off eBay. Service at Fabric Mart has, in the past, been wonderful, and bare-bones shipping with fabric just placed in the box without any wrapper is standard. It is part of why the fabric is such a good deal.
12/19/13 8:57 AM
michellep74 said...
Oh wow, I'm really surprised to read this. I am usually thrilled with my FabricMart purchases. A few months ago, I bought several yards of a rayon knit on FabricMart for $3/yard that I saw listed on another well-known fabric site for $26/yard! And it's nice stuff! I haven't ordered wool from them, but their knits are usually super deals on high quality fabrics.
12/21/13 1:10 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
I am also a huge fan of Fabricmart and sorry to read about your poor experience. I always place a request in the comments before checkout to have my fabrics placed in plastic bags for their protection. If items were out of stock I was refunded the difference via Paypal without further contact from my end. Hopefully your experience was just a fluke. I agree their fabric description can be a bit off, but it's their price and overall good-quality that keeps me going back for more.
12/21/13 11:45 PM
madbadger said...
sorry, to hear about your experience - I have had nothing but great experiences with fabricmart. I've found the descriptions to be accurate (and I read them very carefully) with everything I've ordered. The couple of times they've run out of something, they've credited by paypal account right away. The quality is in line with what you order.
1/13/14 4:58 PM
 
SewingMachineParts.net
http://www.sewingmachineparts.net
Reviewed by: ShantiSeamstressing on 12/9/13
... Read Review
 
Gorgeous Fabrics
http://gorgeousfabrics.com
Reviewed by: carolmc on 12/6/13
... Read Review
 
Zipper Shipper
http://www.zippershipper.com/
Reviewed by: NhiHuynh on 11/30/13
... Read Review
 
Banberry Place
http://www.banberryplace.com
Reviewed by: dgregory10 on 11/26/13
... Read Review
 
Cheeptrims.com
http://www.cheeptrims.com
Reviewed by: HanPanda on 11/20/13
... Read Review
Add another Web site    Read All Web site Reviews


Any registered trademarks mentioned on this page are the property of their respective owner. Valid and accurate reviews and comments are the responsibility of their posters. As per its Terms and Conditions, PatternReview.com is not responsible for and does not validate or verify the accuracy of these statements. Posters you are responsible for your comments so please ensure that these are substantiated.

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us