Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric

http://www.britexfabrics.com/
http://www.britexfabrics.com/

Viewed 499 time(s)
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by: joday
photo
About joday
Member since: 11/28/12
Reviews written: 3
web sites reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/2/14 10:50 AM
Last Updated: 1/2/14 10:51 AM
http://www.britexfabrics.com/ Fabric
Notions
Current Tags What is a Tag:
A while back while searching the net for stretch brocade I found Britex Fabrics in San Francisco. I am glad I did! I have sense ordered from them several times and have not been unhappy.

They have an amazing array of high end fabrics. I will tell you, they are not cheap, but well worth the money if you want your garments to last and look amazing.

Their customer service is simply outstanding. We kind of have a funky address that frequently gets "flagged" as undeliverable. A few days after placing my first order I received a very pleasant phone call from them to verify our address and to let me know the order would be shipping. The order arrived 2 days later. I live in the midwest so that is pretty fast. They do require a signature for delivery for any order over $100.

Out of the shipping box, each piece of fabric came wrapped in tissue paper and sealed in a plastic bag. This probably sounds weird but I felt like it had lovingly been cut and placed in the box! Also, I received a Britex postcard which I thought was a nice touch. Sounds simple, but when you order hundreds of dollars of fabric over time, these little things add up.

Britex also hosts a blog and will have guest bloggers using their fabrics to sew up different types of garments and coats, etc...They usually will have a tutorial with the garment as well.

Based on how their site works, I think Britex is like VogueFabrics....a brick and mortar store that is attempting to put their inventory on the web. I think that is a pretty cumbersome process and does not come without frustrations on the users' part so be prepared to take your time while shopping.

Highly recommend!

Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
alpenrose said...
I lived in SFO for a number of years, but we moved out of state about 30 years ago. Whenever I get a chance to change airplanes on the west coast I choose either SFO or LAX. SFO for Britex and LAX for the fabric center. I LOVE Britex. I think I began shopping there in the early 1960's and have never been disappointed. The only sadness is when I can't get there! I am generally able to go at least once a year. If you need any help let me know.
1/3/14 11:41 PM
shazam410 said...
I was born in SF and used to go to Britex just to walk around in awe. Fabrics are not cheap but they are one of a kind and wonderful quality. It is a fabulous shop.
1/17/14 10:33 PM
Previous review by joday
Gorgeous Fabrics
http://www.gorgeousfabrics.com
Reviewed by: joday on 1/2/14
... Read Review
 
Swiss Textiles Shop
http://www.swiss-textiles-shop.com
Reviewed by: kushami on 1/1/14
... Read Review
 
Simplicity Creative Group
http://www.simplicity.com/default.aspx
Reviewed by: frame on 12/30/13
... Read Review
 
Fabric Mart Fabrics
http://www.fabricmartfabrics.com/
Reviewed by: ceridwen on 12/14/13
... Read Review
 
SewingMachineParts.net
http://www.sewingmachineparts.net
Reviewed by: ShantiSeamstressing on 12/9/13
... Read Review
 
Gorgeous Fabrics
http://gorgeousfabrics.com
Reviewed by: carolmc on 12/6/13
... Read Review
Add another Web site    Read All Web site Reviews


Any registered trademarks mentioned on this page are the property of their respective owner. Valid and accurate reviews and comments are the responsibility of their posters. As per its Terms and Conditions, PatternReview.com is not responsible for and does not validate or verify the accuracy of these statements. Posters you are responsible for your comments so please ensure that these are substantiated.

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us